Newton Township residents are served by the Newton Ransom Volunteer Fire Company, which provides both fire protection and emergency response services in Newton and Ransom Townships.

The president is Erin Barrett and the Vice-president is Mia Vitali.

The Newton Ransom Volunteer Fire Company includes emergency medical technicians, first responders and fire police along with firefighters.  The active volunteers are required to undergo extensive training each year in order to meet state-mandated safety requirements.  Our current fire chief is M. Jeffrey LaCoe with assistant chiefs, Eugene Mancuso and Theodore D. Stryweski.  Our EMS Captain is Cody Stanco and fire police captain is James Rau.  President is Francine Fawcett, Vice President is Francis G. Miller, IV, Treasurer is Lisa Bewighouse, Recording Secretary is Sylvia Gilpin, Financial Secretary is James Rau and Statistical Secretary is Erin Barrett.

The company responds to about 150 calls each year and is dispatched through Lackawanna County Communication Center.  Mutual aid is provided among area departments, including Clarks Summit, Chinchilla, Lake Winola, Duryea, Taylor and Old Forge.  Newton residents call for emergency response through 911 dispatch service.
The Newton Ransom Volunteers are very dedicated to providing the best possible service, but they need your support.  Please consider joining and/or contributing to their annual fund-raising campaigns.